“We’ve spent the last several months providing more information about our update to users around the world,” a WhatsApp spokesperson told iMore, “In that time, the majority of people who have received it have accepted the update and WhatsApp continues to grow. However, for those that have not yet had a chance to do so, their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality on May 15. We’ll continue to provide reminders to those users within WhatsApp in the weeks to come.”
WhatsApp has previously reiterated that there are no changes being made to the security of messages with friends and family, nor will it expand WhatsApp’s ability to share data with Facebook. WhatsApp says it is enabling new business services including customer service messaging, the discovery of businesses, and new shopping experiences on its platform.